If you delete a user from the backend or if a user requests to delete their account, we first check if there are any posts or comments made by this user. If not, we delete the user record completely. If there are any contributions, we anonymize the user name (e.g. delete<rand>) and delete all identifying metadata for that user. However, we will keep any comments and posts, so the discussions don't get destroyed.
What is happening with user content on user deletion
Updated over a week ago